some fantastic artwork

July First Friday in Lansdale

Last night was my hometown of Lansdale’s First Friday celebration. I set up my easel across from St John’s United Church of Christ on Main Street and began to paint. I didn’t get as many people painted into my painting as usual. I think it was because I was set up so close to the band the Tokens and people were really into them and didn’t really know what to make of me. Usually people ask jokingly for me to add them into my paintings. I am always delighted to paint anyone.

Amy Rims painting St John’s United Church of Christ in Lansdale PA

I feel very honored to have some dedicated fans of my work. A man named John who has been following my work, was kind enough to make me sign. I drilled some holes in it this morning so I will be able to hang it next time I’m out painting.

a personalized sign made by a fan

I did manage to paint in my most loyal models. You can find the two of them in most of my Lansdale Live Event paintings.

Besides all the fun of painting, I was very excited to display some of my paintings in the store front of the shut down Lansdale Performing Arts Center. I talked to some people who are involved in the process of trying to reopen it and for now use it as an art exhibition space. I also met B. J. Rau-Putnam of North Penn Community acupuncture, she enjoyed my art so much that she asked me to hang some in her office located at 200 W. Main St with the entrance on Green Street. I’ll be going over there this week to hang some work up. While I was visiting her, I tried out some acupuncture for the first time and I was really impressed by the lack of pain and the amount of relaxation the needles brought on.

Here is the finished  18″ X 24″ oil painting of St John’s United Church of Christ. I am excited to paint more buildings.

St. John's  Church, Amy Rims

St. John’s Church, Amy Rims


4 responses

  1. john

    beautiful painting of church, Glade you like the sign it was my pleasure.

    July 3, 2011 at 1:13 pm

  2. Taylor Liberato

    Tutorials for plein air painting never mention wearing the proper headgear…. but hat’s are so necessary! I’ve seen many straw hats on outdoors and urban artists but yours is the first fedora I’ve seen! Love it!

    July 21, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    • Thanks, style is just as important as talent 🙂

      July 21, 2011 at 4:25 pm

Leave a Reply

